Lost 3D print Resins?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all,
I have been doing lost PLA casting for a few years now and have found the standard PLA has proved quite adequate for my needs and have not needed to move to special 'castable' filament.
I am now embarking on a new adventure into 3D resin printing and considering lost resin casting as the end result and as you may guess am horrified by the prices for 'castable' resins.
To save some time doing trials I was hoping someone may have tried the basic resins in this manner and how successful were their results.
Can anybody help?
Cheers
Rich

Hey Rich, sorry about that.
I follow basically everybody in the world that does backyard casting work, and so it gets all jumbled.

I have not paid too much attention (yet) to resin printing, and so I am not familiar with the differences between something like PLA and whatever the resin is.

I was also told that the special clean-burnout filament was needed for lost filament, but then somebody made some really nice castings with lost PLA, and so I think you may be correct about not needing something special for lost resin.

However, there is a guy who does a lot of lost foam on ytube in aluminum with pretty good results, and so another guy decided to try lost foam with gray iron, and it turned into a huge bubbly blob of metal.

So after all that, I can't answer your question, but am interested in your new process.

Can you add some links to your casting stuff in your signature?

My memory is like the Energizer Bunny.............going, going, going.............
Old age is heck, as they say.....

What did you say your name was..... (just kidding).

Edit:
Its all coming back now, but the question is "How long will it stay?".

Last edited:
This video is cool, and I don't recall even seeing it.