Logo

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Oldmechthings

Reaction score
I often wonder how you fellows pick a logo to put along side your name, and what it means. Let you tell you about mine. In the latter part of November my good friend Guy came over to show me his first model engine that he had just barely completed. (it is posted somewhere on the site) While we were visiting, I had a new book laying on my desk. It must have been ordered in error. I thought it was titled 572 pictures of French Bar Girls, but when it arrived it was 572 pictures of French Gargoyles. Oh well, same difference I guess. Guy noticed the book and thumbed through it. Guy is a professional illustrator by trade, and the next morning when I opened my email there was a picture of a Gargoyle with a striking resemblance of myself. He said he just could not resist the temptation to paint it. Now you know what my friends think of me, an old buzzard sitting on the corner of a building. But I'm much more optimistic. I view it as having been immortalized in stone and I'm not even dead yet. The little bird? Oh, he is just there to make a deposit.

scan0001-1.jpg

Not to be out done, and to reciprocate with a little humor of my own, I emailed an image back to him of a "Guygoyle" holding that first model engine.
I'm sorry if this seems a bit silly, but life has too many other problems to remain serious all the time. If you do not unwind a little, you start to get stiff and then they hurry and bury you before you start to stink.
Birk

I have seen a few avatars in my computer time, and I must say that yours ranks among the top two that exist in my world! I would happily get a tee-shirt done up, and say things like," the size of the caliper is reflective of..."! A brilliant bit of imagination!