Lathe

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mike4517

Reaction score
Can anybody advise me would it be better too bolt my lathe down and level it?
Its just sat on a concrete floor.
Mike
workshop003.jpg

Mike, I'm no expert but imho opinion any piece of machinery should we well secured so I would say yes bolt it down. My little 9x20, bolted to it's stand is quite weighty, but it's top heavy so it would be possible for it to overbalance, if I stalled it doing something silly I'm sure some instability could occur, so it's bolted to the floor. That still meant it could vibrate a bit so I've also fastened both sides of the stand (near the top) back to the wall with brackets. Having said that yours looks to have a lot more mass so bolting it down is probably all that's required.

As for level, I think that's a bonus, but I believe the main concern though is to make sure there is no twist in the bed.

hth

Dave

Dave

Thanks i will get some rawlbolts tomorrow and bolt it down
Mike

A lathe has to be leveled so that there is no twist in the bed. Bolting a lathe down is optional..None of my machines is bolted to the floor. I rather be able to move a machine to new location.. I have re-arranged my shop layout many times as I get yet another machine and try to fit it in and get organized..I'd advise you to pass on the bolts at least until you have used the lathe for a while and know for certain that its location will suit you for good longtime.

Hi Mike,

My view on the two points that you raise:

Level: Nothing magic about level except it is the easiest angle to reproduce.

I have an engineer's level (ex ebay) which is not the best, but it is graduated in units of 0.1mm/metre (i.e. one part in 10000) and can be interpolated between marks to about 1/5 of a division for comparison purposes.