indexable lathe tools - Needed!!

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brass_Machine

Reaction score
I need a decent set of indexable lathe tools. The two sets that I have are the cheap chinese versions. At least one or two of each set is a little off. When I went to change the insert... suddenly the insert doesn't line up anymore and has a tendency to wiggle. So I want to buy something better. Currently I use these from LMS:

480.1679.jpg

I need something better. I just don't have a lot of cash at this time to buy a real nice set. What can I get to hold me over for a few months? Anyone have any good suggestions? The LMS set cost me $33... I am willing to at least go to $90...

Help?

Eric

Is the Enco USA set any better? This one?. It is only $54. any one have this set?

Eric

Hi Eric,

This is the type I have been using for a few years now, and found them very rigid and long lasting. I am talking about the two sets at the bottom of the page.

http://www.chronos.ltd.uk/acatalog/Glanze_Boxed_Sets_of_CCMT_Turning_Tools.html

They all use the same type of tip, but as the tip is made with two different angles, when the tip wears for one angle, it can be used for the other. The tips are very robust and are reasonably cheap.

As the tooling in the States is a lot cheaper than the UK, maybe you can try to find this sort of set within your budget and you wouldn't have to upgrade later.

I think Bob Warfield uses this type, so maybe he can point you in the right direction.

No harm in looking.

John