I don't care how far away the cutter is, turn the machine off first!

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

digiex-chris

Reaction score
I'm new here, but I've read the whole list of oopses, and thought I'd contribute my own.

I've got one of those tiny Taig microlathes setup for small miling, and I'm relatively new to machining. I'm fairly comfortable with steel, but aluminum is both cutting easier and harder. I would get a much better finish climb milling, but there is way too much flex and backlash to make that happen without pulling outwards on the cross slide with my free hand. So I stuck to conventional milling. I'd take a pass, then feel the finish to see if my eyes were lying. Make an adjustment, try another technique, try another pass, feel it. Each time I'd move the cutter 1.5" away from the work so I could get my grubby little fingers in there. Looking over the top of the machine so I could see the back surface, there's less depth perception there. I managed to stick a finger right into the cutter to take a little tiny chunk off, right where you'd grip the knobs!

So, lesson learned. I don't care how good my dexterity is or how small and innocent the machine is, or how far the cutter is away from the work. My hands arn't going anywhere near there unless the machine is OFF! I bet this is the #1 on the list of safety rules, eh?

Make that mistake with the cutter in close proximity to the work and it will chop your finger into little chunks - I've seen it done.

I've been doing the same cut and feel process myself recently and its just too damn easy to get out of synch and reach in with the cutter running.

Keep safe.

Regards,
Ken

I bet this is the #1 on the list of safety rules, eh?

Especially when you start running low on fingers - thanks for sharing!