Hi from a young "old geezer"

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Maschinenbau

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

You're probably wondering about the subject line. Let me explain. I'm in my 20's and I have been messing around with machining for about 5 years. Several years ago I built a simple wobbler engine in a night class at the community college. One night, while working on the engine, I noticed that the guy next to me had his ham radio call sign written on his tool bag. I started up a conversation about ham radio, and he asked if I was a ham operator. I told him that I wasn't, but my brother is, and I kind of picked up a few things from him. He then asked what I was building, and I told him that I was working on a steam engine. He looks at me and says, "Ham radio and steam engines...you boys are too young to be old farts. Guys my age do that stuff to get away from the wife." :big:

So a little bit about me. I'm an engineer, although I'm back in school working on my master's degree. I've never been in such a "tool deprived state" as I am now. I own a lathe and a decent amount of tooling, but I live in a 1 bedroom apartment now, so it's all at my folks' house, several hundred miles away. I'm thinking of getting a Taig lathe, so that I can spend a bit of time fiddling with model engines and such. I've always enjoyed tinkering with machining because it's the really fun part of engineering. No long calculations, just the joy of building something.

I'm looking forward to participating here, although I'll probably be mostly an onlooker for the near future.

Welcome Maschinenbau, from an old engineer. This hands-on stuff beats the desk work any day. wEc1

Regards,
Rudy

Maschinenbau,

Welcome to our forum Ec1

Best Regards
Bob