Hello from East Anglia

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MrTin

Reaction score
Hi all,
I am new(ish) to the forum because I am very keen to build an IC engine. It's been a wish for decades, but I have never had the equipment. It may well be that I still don't.

The reason I have the equipment I do have is that I am a professional modelmaker as I have been for many years (since I was 18). So my Peatol (Taig) lathe is perfect for the tiny stuff I need to do.
I don't have a milling machine as I have never got anywhere with them, from small Chinese pile of junk to a big old Tom Senior at school. It never goes back the same height it went!

Currently in a sort of semi-retirement and making patterns for model railway kits and slot racing body kits mainly.

Passions are for old model boats, Specialbuilding (I have an Austin 7 Cambridge and a Burlington Baretta), Canals, architecture and the grandchildren.

What I really want to do is make a Westbury Sealion, because it looks like a Coventry Climax, my favourite ngine, one of which is going in my Austin 7 Special, as, being tight, I won't pay bank manager money for a dustman engine like the wheezing little side valve in a 7. My Coventry Climax FWMs (2 of em) cost me £85 and push out 38 bhp, bog standard. No 7 engine could dream of that.

Couple of pics of previous models made for customers.
1901129_10152308274947228_1798243574_n_zps72c7ad21.jpg

albatross2_zps934bb278.jpg

Martin

What part of East Anglia, Martin? My wife is from Isleham, Cambs. I was stationed at RAF Lakenheath at the end of my USAF career and brought her home with me.
I am sure we have a member from Peterborough on this forum.
Welcome to the group!
Chuck