Cast Iron cylinder liner

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vcutajar

Reaction score
Hi,

I used a similar tool to hone the cylinder in my Webster engine ( work in progress) so I don't know how well it will perform but by looking through the cylinder it looks OK. I left about 0.05 mm extra for honing.

Hi Vince;
That is called a deglazing hone on this side. It is what I use to finish my cast iron bores.
It will not correct a defect in the cylinder but if you bored straight and smooth, works fine.
I leave .001" ( .025 mm ) for cleanup with the hone and usually come very close to size with a good surface for breaking in cast iron rings.

Peter

Vince,

I have been using the Sealey version for a few years now to very good effect.

It will straighten out a slightly tapered bore of say a couple of thou out, but does take time.

But as already mentioned, if your bore is straight, it only takes 1 thou, or even less, to complete the hone. All you are doing is basically scratching a very shallow pattern into the cylinder wall that will retain oil while the rings bed in.

A word of warning though with any of these units, always clean the oil off after use, otherwise you will be breaking out the Araldite to stick the stones back on, DAMHIK. Use a fast acting neutral wash, something like meths or IPA, nothing that will soften the epoxy adhesive.

John

Further to John's comments, I would add the following:

When you are honing the cylinder, keep the hone moving up and down as it turns, but do not let any part of the stones exit the cylinder as it's turning. This can cause a flare in the cylinder bore if you do.