Carburetion who, what, where and when

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gbritnell

Project of the Month Winner!!!
Project of the Month Winner
Reaction score
Gentlemen,
This is going to be my explanation of carburetion used for miniature engines. Although I have no educational background on the subject I have worked on a great many carbs over the years, everything from the simplest lawnmower types to constant velocity motorcycle and automotive designs.
When I got into miniature I.C. engine building, hit and miss type engines, it was just a matter of making a tube with a reduced diameter (venturi) somewhere in the middle of the tube. At this point there would be an entry for the fuel. Being as hit and miss engines run at a constant speed there was no need for sophisticated jetting or porting. The engine creates an airflow with the downward stroke of the piston and this airflow is accelerated in the venturi area thereby drawing fuel through a jet where the fuel is metered by a needle valve.