Approximate normal hourly wages in Australia?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pete

Reaction score
I just got a subscription to the Australian Model Engineering magazine and checked out a few of the advertisers web sites out of curiosity. Australias prices seem very high. One example would be for Sherline equipment and accesories $$$$. A comparison of what an Australian dollar is worth against the Canadian dollar is easily obtained using Goggle, But without having a general idea of what would be considered a average hourly pay rate it's hard to judge how bad people in this hobby are getting shafted. Obviously every job is different but a general idea of what someone makes per hr. in a blue collar industry would be helpfull. I work in the mining industry as a heavy equipment operator so anyone that does the same in Australia would be ideal for a comparison. Obviously this question is of no great importance but as I said I am curious.

Pete

Marv,
Sorry about posting in the questions and answers section but as I thought it was slightly on topic in regards to equipment costs it would be ok. No big deal.

Tin, LOL, I had no idea that a website you posted a link to existed,Thanks for looking that up. Guess you really can find anything on Google. Hourly rate for my job is roughly in the same ball park to maybe a bit low until you factor in that an Australian dollar is worth .89 cents Canadian. I've always thought equipment costs in Canada were fairly high compared to prices in the U.S. but for any Australian members here, You have my deepest sympathy.

Pete

pete said:
Marv,
Sorry about posting in the questions and answers section but as I thought it was slightly on topic in regards to equipment costs it would be ok. No big deal.