Aluminium suitablity as angle plate?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jack404

Reaction score
G'day folks

i am making a angle plate to mount my 4" rotary table and other bits and peices
and started in useing a peice of 15mm thick 2011 T6 Aluminium when a friend dropped by and asked

"will that be ok?? its only Aluminium"

i am NOT a expert so am asking before i go further is this strong enough??

angleplate.jpg

the angle plate in the machine with one pass

full dims are 15mm x 150mm x 100mm or 11/32" x 6" x4"

cheers

jack

It will certainly be strong enough; the real question is, will it be stiff enough? My guess (not knowing your design) is that it will be fine, especially if you can add a stiffening gusset to the back.

Another concern is the relative softness and susceptibility to dings and dents, but care in use can mitigate that problem.

If it is square,I think it would be good enough for Gu'mint work.On the other hand,if you're making parts for the space shuttle,go 'n buy a $400 angle plate.
She'll be right,Jack .Couldn't resist that :big:

Thank you Gent's

the plan is to weld a 1/2" chunk of plate on each end to give it the support but was milling out
6 slots first when my mate dropped by and got me thinking ( he has a TIG to weld this heavy Alu)

expect him to join in when he gets home , not a hobby engine fan but a home machine operator who has just retired,

they use this plate as mounts for aircraft so thought it would do my little peices

and my little 4" rotary table is fairly light but its for lathes and not a dual angle version so i am making this and it should help out with some other bits i intend to make ( spent my $ on a hand held band saw instead of a new rotary table so gotta get more use from the one i have)