A shy wave from the UK

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chippychap

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I'll try not to get under your feet and hope to meet you all on the threads.

I have just got a Hobbymat MD65, my first lathe, and EVERYTHING is new to me

Thank you.

Welcome Chippy...no need to be shy around here, we were all new to this at some point. Jump right in whenever or wherever your comfortable and just enjoy the fellowship and fun!!!

Regards,
Bill

Welcome to the club Chippy!!! ;D

Like you i am also very new to all of this metal working stuff!
I am more familiar with the stuff more commonly known as "Brown Stuff" on this forum, aka wood! :D

Don't be shy to ask any questions and use the search function, there is a lot of info on this forum and a whole pile of guys willing to answer any questions you may have!

Looking forward to seeing your progress!

Andrew

Welcome aboard Sir!

I am a newbie myself, and I assure you there are many neophytes around, and they always receive very good replies to their posts from the more knowledgeable people.

do you care to post a photo of your Hobbymat? I love them!

take care,

tom in MA

This is the little beastie.

Hobbymathigh.jpg

A warm welcome chippychap! you will love this forum I'm sure!
Stew

Chippychap

Welcome to HMEM. We look forward to your participation in the various threads. Any questions just ask, there is always someone with an answer or at least an opinion. :bow: :bow:

Cheers :)

Don

Welcome Chippy you have come to right place. Have you any ideas for a first project ? . wEc1

Rob.....

Chippychappy :
Welcome to the board. Interesting little lathe thanks for the photo . A bit different from what I have seen. Looks like it will do fine for small models. what is the swing and ctc measurement on that.
If you have not already done so check out: