Which Tools doI need to Buy for Hobby

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
W

wheelterrapin

Folks, as I said in the welcome section, I am a wannabe machinist trying to self teach myself through books and videos as I have no machinist freinds in my area I can learn from. My question is this:

I have a Sherline Lathe and Sherline Mill as well as I have an older 12" Atlas Lathe and a newer Enco 2 HP Benchmill. Since I am interested in building model engines which tools would be best to use (Sherline tools or Atlas & Enco) and what tooling will I need for them to make the modles?

I appreciate any advice and help I can get.

Thanks,

Paul

Let me start off by saying your are pretty well equipped!

It really depends on the size of the part you will be making as to which tool(s) would be most effective for the task at hand. For example, you wouldn't use a sledge hammer to drive a tack (unless you have destructive tendencies :lol: ), nor would you expect to knock down a wall with a finishing hammer. It you are turning a 3/4" piece of bar stock, then you would most likely want to use the Atlas, but if you were turning an 1/8" piece of bar stock, then the Sherline would be the better solution (this is not saying that you couldn't do either on either machine).

The other thing to keep in mind is the machine's capabilities. If on will tread and the other won't, then that can impact your decision on which machine to use for a given task.

The others on this forum are much more familiar with your equipment and also have more experience, so they will have better answers than this.

This is a rough generalized answer from a mostly self taught hack machinist, but it kind of illustrates the point.

Hope this helps out.