What upgrade for my computer??

Discussion in 'Computer Geek Zone' started by Hal, Mar 9, 2008.

Help Support HMEM by donating using the link above.
  1. Mar 9, 2008 #1

    Hal

    Hal

    Hal

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just bought a NEW fancy HP 7250 Photosmart all in one, go fast jump high, printer/copier/fax/scanner/unit. ( I thought I was doing a good deed, not forcing a program update. foolish me)

    I couldn't get the scanner to transfer images to my computer so I called HP.

    They said I need to up grade my old computer (Dell Pentium #4 2000 pro)system.

    What upgrade should I get? The tech said they were having trouble with Vista(?) and I thought he said something about XP? Between me being hard of hearing and his poor command of English we had trouble communicating. :)

    What upgrade is recommended?

    Hal
     
  2. Mar 9, 2008 #2

    rake60

    rake60

    rake60

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,769
    Likes Received:
    104
  3. Mar 9, 2008 #3

    shred

    shred

    shred

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Sounds like a driver problem to me too. A Dell P4 ought to be fine for that. You're running Windows 2000?
     
  4. Mar 9, 2008 #4

    tattoomike68

    tattoomike68

    tattoomike68

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    17
    Windows 2000 is a solid OS but this is the year 2008. If you can find a buddy with win XP pro SP3 you would be better off.

    If I was not so broke I would burn a copy and send it to you.
     
  5. Mar 9, 2008 #5

    Hal

    Hal

    Hal

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    2
    shred I'm running windows 2000 pro.

    Rick I checked that sight out and it didn't help, maybe I'll have to have a closer look.
    I'm trying to get my computer guru to stop by.

    Hal
    Thanks for the tips.
     
  6. Mar 9, 2008 #6

    shred

    shred

    shred

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    ok, so what happens when you plug the new uber-device into the PC?

    Btw, if you want a new PC with XP on it, you'll probably have to buy it before June-- Microsoft is requiring everybody to be on Vista by then.

     
  7. Mar 9, 2008 #7

    Hal

    Hal

    Hal

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    2
    shred

    I have it hooked up to my PC. I down loaded the software CD.
    When I check the Scanner, Copier on "my computer" both the scanner and the copier list the correct HP 7200 series.

    When I scan an image, the scan menu reads only, scan and reprint , and scan to memory device. The menu does not show "scan to computer" as listed in the book.
    When I press "scan to memory" it states memory device not found.

    Hal
     
  8. Mar 10, 2008 #8

    tattoomike68

    tattoomike68

    tattoomike68

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    17
    Is it in the clipboard? can you open your photo software and paste the image after that?

    kind of like hitting "print screen" on your keyboard and you have a screen shot in the clipboard ready to be pasted..
     
  9. Mar 10, 2008 #9

    shred

    shred

    shred

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Doesn't look like that's a known issue in the drivers, so you may have to reinstall them and see if that helps. Scan to memory probably wants you to put a USB key or memory card in the printer.


     

Share This Page