Suitable Compressor

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Philjoe5

Reaction score
I'm nearly finished building my first steam engine. It has a 1" bore and 1.25" stroke. I don't own an air compressor and want to use one to power my engine. I probably won't use this compressor for any other shop work. Any suggestions on what specs I should be looking for, like max psi and CFM ratings? I do understand that if I was an expert machinist I could use a 5 psi compressor, but this is my FIRST steamer.

Cheers,
Phil

If you can find someone with an air brush compressor, try running your engine with that.
(Such a compressor runs my 3/4" bore twin nicely.) If it's satisfactory for your purposes, consider buying one. HF sells them for ~$50, including pressure gage and water trap.

The main advanatage is that these compressors are very quiet. They're light to carry about and they're small - perfect for carting around to exhibitions.

Downside is they lack an accumulator tank and, naturally, are low pressure and volume. They're definitely not a substitute for a real shop compressor but they are very convenient for the stated purpose.

Here's one for ya. I have one just like this that I use to run my model steam engines. It's an old, two cylinder, ritter dental compressor. It has a 1.25" bore and a 1.5" stroke. All cast iron, including the pistons and rods. Nice quiet little unit and it has a very nice, antique appearance to it. I keep it in my study to run my steam engines in there.

http://cgi.ebay.com/vintage-ritter-dental-air-compressor_W0QQitemZ280179838053QQihZ018QQcategoryZ31458QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

It would be nice if you could pick up this unit or talk the guy into shipping it for a reasonable price.

Chuck