Stuart 10V First Timer

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kartwood

Reaction score
I hope I'm getting this is the right place....

I'm just getting started on the 10V. I don't have a mill, so I'm doing the facing in the lathe. It took a long time because my four jaw chuck is not turning true. I found I had to do a lot of shimming and ended up finishing the soleplate on the face plate after I trued it up. I lapped the top and bottom surfaces.

Next up, I have to prepare the bearing seats. The book suggests doing it with a file but I don't look forward to that and welcome any suggestions.

box-bed-sole-plate.jpg

Goodie goodie goodie!!
I'm real excited to watch your progress.
Pics of setups are interesting too.

You're in the right place.

My wife thanks you for the encouagement, Zee! :big:

I don't yet have many bits to press into service when I need to clamp a piece of work. This morning, I came up with this simple, one-bolt solution. I only needed to touch up the facing on one end of the casting so it worked out well.

soleplate-held-fast.jpg

Great looking finish KW, and you appear to have those first couple of castings cleaned up nicely as well. Sans a mill, those bearings are going to be a hand fit job, get your self a good, sharp, round and rat tail file (medium to fine) and settle in for a few hours of fun. Careful, even, gentle strokes are in order and take your time about it. They will not be that difficult to fit up if you take it easy. Best of luck and keep us posted of your progress. th_wwp

Cheers

BC1
Jim

Kartwood,