Steam Vs. Air and other things

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

neptune769

Reaction score
Hello All,

I'm new to engines. I don't know much about them. But that is why I'm here. I acquired a lathe and I want to make a small engine. I'm either going to make a Sterling or Air powered. Something simple. On a separate subject I was wondering is there a difference in performance between Steam & Air for the same engine and air & steam pressure? Also is there a way to calculate HP for a Steam or air driven engine? Thank you.

Regards,
Dennis L.

Engines designed for steam will also run on compressed air without any design change.

For your first engine I would suggest you build a steam engine. Sterling engines are very interesting to see run but are not that easy to get to run. They require very close fits and very little friction between moving parts and these are two thing that are hard to balance out at the same time. Steam engines do require some close fits but are a little more forgiving.

There are many casting kits you can buy but I think for a first engine you would be better off finding a set of plans that do not require casting but are built from metal stock.

If you do it this way and make a mistake you just start over with another chunk of metal rather then have to purchase a replacement casting.

Which ever you build welcome to the hobby.

Engines designed for steam will also run on compressed air without any design change.

Not quite right I am afraid.

Expansion engines is just one common example, they actually have to use expanding steam to work correctly.

I am sure there are a few more as well, including steam vacuum engines, it's no use throwing in cold water if it is just air in there.

John