Single point internal threading tool relief angle?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Russel

Reaction score
I'm playing around with some ideas for making a internal threading tool to thread 3/4”-16 internal threads. I would like to make the threading tool from 0.500” W1 drill rod and a .125” x .125” HSS cutting bit. My first idea is to cut a slot in the end of the half inch drill rod and secure the HSS bit for cutting the threads. But, when I check the cutting profile with a 10 degree relief it just won't work. (Take a look at the diagram.) So, I figured maybe a 20 degree relief would do the trick, but that won't do either, 3/4”-16 threads, if I'm not mistaken, are 0.0625” deep.

So, my question is what relief angle should I use? Should I just increase the angle until it will clear? I'm relatively new to machining, is there better way to configure a solid internal threading tool?

Internal.thread.tool.png

Well, you could solve it as a portion of a circular segment with the circle having the minor diameter and the length of the sector being equal to twice your tool height, the height of the segment would be the amount of interference of the tool in the cut. So, for a "tap drill" of 11/16 and a tool height of .125" I come up with something like 11 degrees if the tool is dead on height. So something like 15 degrees would be OK.

Don't forget the helix angle.

For a 75% thread fit the thread depth is .061 ( minor diameter = .689). I'm not sure why the diameter shown on your diagram is .779.