QCTP Toolholders

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JimM

Reaction score
Hi all

I've just bought a AXA/100 style QCTP, but I only got 2 toolholders as I want to make a few more myself. I haven't got any steel of the right size but do have a bin load of cast iron sash weights and was hoping to use a couple of these but before I start can anyone confirm if CI is a suitable material ?

Assuming it is what's the best way to remove the outer skin, the weights are pretty rusty and look like they'd trash an end mill in 2 seconds flat.

Cheers

Jim

Jim,

I have been using sash weights for many years, with great success. Unfortunately, depending what part of the world you come from, does seem to affect the quality somewhat. Here in the UK, from a standard sash weight I can usually get 1.25" diameter x 12" long of good quality material, whereas some of the lads from the US find that theirs are absolute crap and almost unmachineable.

Getting back to your main question. Cast iron isn't really suitable for making QCTP holders. It is a very brittle material, and cannot take the bending forces that are applied by the clamping piston or deflection caused by tooling cutting forces.

I tend to use either EN1a (a free cutting mild steel) or chunks of cast steel that I was given. I am sure the others on here can give you other materials to use as well.

Hope this helps

Bogs

Sash weights are potentionaly pretty crappy material. They can contain everything from rancid butter to depleted uranium and will likely not make good tool holders. Seriously, as materials go they are a real crapshoot.

Thanks guys

Sort of suspected cast iron wasn't going to be up to the job but you live in hope :)