Poppin 150 Build

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vederstein

Must do dumb things....
Reaction score
Some of you folks know that my next project is the Poppin flame licker. I have a high distaste for tiny parts/fasteners. Therefore I redesigned the engine making it 50% larger.

Then I looked at the main frame the original designer called the Standard. I looked at my stock of materials and unfortunately I didn't have a piece of material large enough from which to create the Standard. So I convinced myself what the hell, I'll just cast it.

Other than in my profession to which I believe I'm a quite good designer of industrial machinery, I'm very much a jack of all trades/master of none type of hobbiest. Unlike some people here, I'm not that picky as long as it works, and my castings "work". They're never great looking, but then I'm still very much a novice at the whole aluminum casting biz.

Anyways, I designed and 3D printed a pattern I believed could be cast "open" mold.

DSC02567.JPG

DSC02565.JPG

DSC02566.JPG

It took a few tries getting the sand to hold, but I do have what looks like a serviceable part. (At the time of this picture, it was still hot to the touch and I was unable to clean it).

DSC02568.JPG

We'll see when I start cutting on this beast.

...Ved.

Overall, the casting was not bad.

The issue with castings is that nothing, and I mean nothing, is square. Castings have draft so they're crooked by design. Therefore the first step is to guesstimate squareness then qualify as many sides as feasible on that one set up. For my purposes, I clamped it reversed in the mill and qualified the bottom and outer perimeter (5 sides).

DSC02569.JPG