PMR 2A Wobbler- my first engine from castings

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DOC123

Reaction score
Dear All
This is my first attempt at making an engine from castings and only my second steam engine. It runs (just) with me blowing into it and easily on a little compressor.
I modified the kit a little as it is imperial and all my taps etc are metric. I didn't take any WIP images. I must start doing that.
I'm quite pleased with it considering I'm very new at using a mill and lathe.
I just need to mount it on a base. Not sure whether I should paint the cylinder or leave it bare.
wobbler.jpg

Fantastic Doc...sounds like it runs well too from your description. PRM use to offer this in a bronze casting set too but stopped doing that some years back...I always wondered why. So what do you have planned for your next project?

Regards,
Bill

Great looking job for only your second engine attempt Doc. And to say that it is the first go at castings is all the more impressive. Many get intimidated by castings but it appears that you have overcome that fear and produced a fine running engine. PMR stuff is all good quality to begin with and their customer service is quite good as well. At least if you bodged up a piece you could easily have gotten a replacement with just a simple phone call. If you paint the cylinder, highlight the details with a darker color for contrast, or mask them off before applying color, that would be very eye catching. Thm:

BC1
Jim

bearcar1 said:
Great looking job for only your second engine attempt Doc. And to say that it is the first go at castings is all the more impressive.

Yes. :bow:

Many get intimidated by castings

Well, I know I do. :-\

Great work Doc. :bow:

Best Regards
Bob

Well done Doc,keep up the good work. th_wav

Ian (seagar)

Coffs Harbour,
N.S.W.