Missing pages in plan??

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

deadin

Reaction score
Hello,
I'm a brand new "machinist" and just found this site. I think I'll like it here!
I am just starting to learn metal working after a lifelong desire to do so. (I'm 68yo.)
So far my experience is a successful wobbler and a disastrous "elbow" engine.

Anyway, on to my first question........
I downloaded a set of plans (from another site) that seem to be missing a page or two.
They are for a "Model Horizontal Single Compressed Air Engine" by Chuck Fellows. It seemed to be a likely project for a novice. However there are no drawings, specs, or instruction concerning the valve timing mechanism and eccentric, other than a note saying that the gears should be a 2:1 ratio. There also is nothing about the flywheels included, but I think I can fake them. ;D (I'm also having trouble figuring out how to machine the crank from a solid billet of steel, but I'm not ready to give up on it, yet.)

Welcome to the forum deadin !

Bill

deadin,

Welcome to our forum.
icon_welcome.gif

Best Regards
Bob

Welcome to HMEM deadin.

Rick

Thanks for the welcome!!

Now, on to more questions.....
I've downloaded Brian's plans(Great plans BTW ;D) and see that I need to turn a couple of 3 1/2" flywheels.
My first problem is I have a Grizzly Mini-Lathe and only 3" chucks. (3 and 4 jaw). I figured I would just get a larger chuck but then realized I don't have enough cross slide feed to handle anything bigger than 3".
If I center bore them for an arbor and don't get it perfect, I have no way to true up the outer circumference.

Any secrets or tips???

Dean