Mills 1.3cc diesel - Plans by Ron Chernich from Model Engine Builder magazine

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Metal Mickey

Reaction score
Hello, thought I would share with you the progress of the model diesel engine I am building from the article and plans of Ron Chernich (Australia) he published in issue 1 of Model Engine Builder magazine. I started in January this year. My progress depends on the time I can get in the workshop and how fit I am (excuses I know!) The build is documented on my website (along with all the other projects I have done this year) http://www.mikes-models.com I hope the photo's load as this is my first time.....

slidesawandMills018.jpg

about to start turning the front taper.....

millscrankshaft12072008006.jpg

Where I have got to at the moment........

millsfueltanksess24072008025.jpg

Made 2 fuel tanks and tops. One for a reader of my website and the other for mine.

millscrankshaft12072008003.jpg

Turning the radius on the end using the method described by Ron Chernich

millscrankshaft12072008010.jpg

Where I am now and I have jsut started to make the crankshaft.......more to follow......

And here they are......getting on with the crankshaft and the prop nut.....

millscrankshaft13thJuly2008013.jpg

the two phosphur bronze bushes trial fitted to crankshaft blank..

millscrankshaft13thJuly2008009.jpg
the prop nut....

millscrankshaft13thJuly2008022.jpg
why do we always trial fit to see what its going to look like when finished! (well at least I do......)

millscrankshaft13thJuly2008020.jpg

Ron Chernich, the designer of this engine says it will swing a 12" wooden prop.......well it looks big to me!

Very nice
Splendid looking shop you have there
I enjoyed looking at your web site
John