Mills 1.3cc diesel - Plans by Ron Chernich from Model Engine Builder magazine

Discussion in 'A Work In Progress' started by Metal Mickey, Jul 12, 2008.

1. Jul 12, 2008 #1

Metal Mickey

Metal Mickey

Metal Mickey

Hello, thought I would share with you the progress of the model diesel engine I am building from the article and plans of Ron Chernich (Australia) he published in issue 1 of Model Engine Builder magazine. I started in January this year. My progress depends on the time I can get in the workshop and how fit I am (excuses I know!) The build is documented on my website (along with all the other projects I have done this year) http://www.mikes-models.com I hope the photo's load as this is my first time.....

[​IMG]
    about to start turning the front taper.....

[​IMG]

Where I have got to at the moment........

[​IMG]

Made 2 fuel tanks and tops. One for a reader of my website and the other for mine.

[​IMG]

Turning the radius on the end using the method described by Ron Chernich

[​IMG]

Where I am now and I have jsut started to make the crankshaft.......more to follow......

And here they are......getting on with the crankshaft and the prop nut.....

[​IMG]
    the two phosphur bronze bushes trial fitted to crankshaft blank..

[​IMG] the prop nut....

[​IMG] why do we always trial fit to see what its going to look like when finished! (well at least I do......)

[​IMG]
    Ron Chernich, the designer of this engine says it will swing a 12" wooden prop.......well it looks big to me!

2. Jul 12, 2008 #2

doubleboost

doubleboost

doubleboost

Very nice
    Splendid looking shop you have there
    I enjoyed looking at your web site
    John

3. Jul 12, 2008 #3

Metal Mickey

Metal Mickey

Metal Mickey

Thank you John, can you see the photo's? Because i can't. :(

4. Jul 12, 2008 #4

CallMeAL

CallMeAL

CallMeAL

I don't see any photo's either ???

5. Jul 12, 2008 #5

Metal Mickey

Metal Mickey

Metal Mickey