learning cad

Discussion in 'Software and Programming' started by jixxerbill, Feb 24, 2013.

Help Support HMEM by donating:

  1. Apr 20, 2013 #81

    Auzzie53

    Auzzie53

    Auzzie53

    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Go here I have written a very simply into cad - Draftview (do a google search) is free its operates same as Austcad
     
  2. Aug 3, 2013 #82

    Maryak

    Maryak

    Maryak

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4,998
    Likes Received:
    75
    Hi,

    I'm a dedicated TurboCAD user and have been since V14. It cannot do all the things Solidworks can do but for 15% of the price, for its' top of the range package, it's pretty damn good. One thing I would say is if you want to use 3D modeling, whatever package you select there is a learning curve and the base versions of pretty well all CAD packages don't do 3D very well or very accurately. There are workarounds but you'll soon tire, (ask me how I know), of faffing about using them.

    Turbocad is usually shipped with Ken Doyles CAD Fundamentals, a 2D training CD, plus a symbols CD and you can also buy his 3D training CD. I highly recommend both.

    No affiliation just a very satisfied user.

    Best Regards
    Bob
     
  3. Aug 3, 2013 #83

    Slider65

    Slider65

    Slider65

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am a Design Draftsman and use AutoCad, Inventor and solid Works and PTC Creo Direct ( which is the old CoCreate One Space ). And the easiest to know how to use would be PTC Creo Direct as it is a non history base format, Which means you can go back into and earlier part of you model and modify it without having to undo everything that was created after it.

    They also have a lower spec free version for home users.

    http://www.ptc.com/products/creo-elements-direct/modeling-express/

    It is good for learning 3d Modeling.
     
  4. Aug 4, 2013 #84

    Draw-Tech

    Draw-Tech

    Draw-Tech

    Member HMEM Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    95
    I disagree, I have been designing with Inventor since it was started, designed many machines, with less than 2% error, accurate to 8 place decimal, if that's not good, I don't know what could be better.

    Draw-Tech
     
    Slider65 likes this.
  5. Aug 6, 2013 #85

    Maryak

    Maryak

    Maryak

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4,998
    Likes Received:
    75
    At $7K, why am I not surprised?
     
  6. Aug 6, 2013 #86

    TopEndScraper

    TopEndScraper

    TopEndScraper

    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    10
    I purchased TurboCad 16 pro , platinum , for less than $300 , and it even came with a CAM addon for CNC ing
    i persisted for 6 months , and learnt a lot , ( no CAD experience ) i use it for 3D all the time , and its quick , yer you have to plan what you want to draw ,

    The biggest mistake you can make in 3D it to drag and drop an object , it wont end up right , use the boxes on the bottom of the screen , and type in the distance you want to move , the size of objects ect , alot quicker and more accurate

    today i drew this , 15" duplex pump , in 4 hours , yes a long way to go ,
    [​IMG]

    In turbo cad , i like the Snaps , once you learn the keyboard short cuts its so fast , even adding draft to all sides for mould making is easy , just do it before joining objects

    i think Turbo cad 16pro is cheaper now , at $200 ,ive only owned it for 18 months , and im still learning more , in the last 6 months im just getting quicker and quicker
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    its so easy to draw , I did some " art work " for web pages , in CAD
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  7. May 3, 2015 #87

    picks27t

    picks27t

    picks27t

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    10
    Does any body know a cad program that will work in a IPad?
     
  8. May 3, 2015 #88

    Dave Sohlstrom

    Dave Sohlstrom

    Dave Sohlstrom

    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    27
    Onshape.com works on computers, Ipad, Iphone, Mac and lenix

    Dave
     
  9. May 3, 2015 #89

    picks27t

    picks27t

    picks27t

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    10
    Thanks I will give it a try
     
  10. May 16, 2015 #90

    Ronald4418

    Ronald4418

    Ronald4418

    New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    If your looking for a Free Edition of CAD, look no further than DoubleD Cad XT. It looks and acts just like AutoCad 2012 and an instructional PDF is available for $99.00. I use it now exclusively after having taken an AutoCad online course as it takes up a lot less space than AutoCad 2012 and uses much less resources.
     

Share This Page