Tiny Power Rope Engine

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

steamin

Reaction score
My father started a Tiny Power Rope engine many years ago. For whatever reason he lost interest in the project before he really got a good start. So he gave it to me. I had been working off and on the project myself for many years. I just did not like the rope tensioning device that was laid out in the original drawings. So I finally sat down with a sharp pencil and a brand new pad of paper and started to sketch out ideas until I came up with what you see in the pictures. I wanted to finish this model before I got back on the LaFrance project. The video has a lot of background noise. Sorry about that.

Attachments

• 0BF87D20-CD27-4B3D-80A1-933E1891485C.jpeg
    0BF87D20-CD27-4B3D-80A1-933E1891485C.jpeg
    221.5 KB · Views: 634
  • A63E3272-0803-42A8-81C4-C18D0EB3EED1.jpeg
    A63E3272-0803-42A8-81C4-C18D0EB3EED1.jpeg
    228.6 KB · Views: 608
  • IMG_0874.MOV
    25.2 MB
The short answer is nope same result as SteveH above.
I like the still though.
John B

Excellent build! The finish is great!

Very pretty, and it actually works!
I am curious about the cross head slides. Are they oil filled bronze, or do I see oilers there?

Re: the compressor noise. Long time ago in a different shop I had a medium sized compressor. Every time my wife came in to say hello or to check that I was still alive, it seemed like the compressor kicked on and would startle the crap out of her. She swore I had some kind of secret remote to make it do that.

I had trouble with the video playback but assumed it was me or my computer, because it usually is. ;)

Here's what worked for me with windows 10:
Right click on the .MOV icon. Then click "save link as:", and save the file it offers. I could then play the movie from my download folder.