Layout Work

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bernd

Reaction score
Here's an easy way to do layout work on small pieces. I'm no expert by any means. I hope to give the newbie an idea of how it's done. Comments welcome both constructive :) and destructive. :eek:

Here is some of the tooling required:
An angle plate
A block to raise the part up for easier marking. I'm using a 1-2-3 block
6 inch scale
A scriber (I don't know what the technical term for this tool is)

pic1.jpg

Next place the part your going to mark on the block along with the scale and set the sharp pointer to the correct setting. In this case it's 0.500" inch.

pic2.jpg

Next draw the sharp point across part to scribe the line.

pic3.jpg

Here are the two bases for Elmer Verburg's Wobbler almost all marked.

pic4.jpg

Here's an alternative to not having an angle plate. Since 1-2-3 blocks come in sets, you can use the two to create your own angle block.

pic5.jpg

Once all the intersections of the holes are marked it's time to "center" punch the holes. In the picture below are three punches. The top is an automatic prick punch, next is one you need to tap with a hammer, and the third is a home made "center" punch. The difference between a "prick" punch and a "center" punch is in the point. The "prick" punch has a very sharp point so you can feel the point "drop" into the cross lines you have scribed. A "center" punch, which has 60 degree point, is then used in the "prick" punch hole to enlarge the dimple formed by the "prick" punch making it easier to center drill. In other words the large punched dimple will keep the center drill from wandering off the scribed line.

pic6.jpg