Is the X2 the machine for me

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JimM

Reaction score
Hi all

I'm brand new to model engines, machining and the forum too :) Although I've owned an Atlas 10" lathe for 6 months I've never actually used it but plan on doing so in the very near future - probably starting out with Stuart 10V or similar.

I was going to just get a vertical slide to use on the lathe but time I've bought that plus adapters etc it makes more sense to flash the cash from the start and buy a dedicated milling machine. I've had a read around and think that an X2 is probably going to be the best compromise (size and price are both right) but will I regret not spending the extra for an X3

As I'm totally new I'm not sure how my interest will develop, but at present the small stationary engines are what grab me.

Suppose it's bit like how long is a piece of string but at what stage will I outgrow the X2 or to put it another way can X2 owners give examples of what they haven't been able to do on their machines ? Is it jsut a case that the X3 can handle larger workpieces or is there more to it than that ?

It's a bit of a Catch22 - I don't want to spend the extra if I'm not likely to use the capacity but I also don't want to have to upgrade in a few months if the X2 won't cut it and pay twice for a machine

Lastly I've seen lots of posts that suggest you have to strip down and rebuild the X2 straight out of the box - is there a guide to doing this anywhere.

Cheers

Jim

Mr. Frank J. Hoose, Jr. has a very good review of the X2 on his Mini Lathe web site.
Homier Mini-Mill Review
It tells how to unpack and properly clean the new machine.

Rick