How big a boiler?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Phelonius

Reaction score
How does one figure how big a boiler to build for a given engine?
I would be looking at between 60 and 100 psi, and wondering how to figure one that would generate enough volume of steam to do the job without getting too big to be practical.
For instance, a small home made stem engine in a model boat that would have a boiler sized to fit the boat and yet be adequate to the job

Phelonius.

In steamboat work,

5 sq feet of heating surface/indicated HP for a water tube boiler

10 sq feet of heating surface/indicated HP for a fire tube boiler

Dave

I'm no boiler expert (where's SandyC these days anyway?), but pressure and volume are different things when dealing with steam. You can make a tiny boiler that will make a lot of pressure, but without volume it's not going to run a big engine. A big boiler might be able to generate a lot of steam, but little pressure if the fire isn't sized right.

Phelonius,

Attached is an excel file that I used to calculate boiler specs. I have not checked it with Sandy C and hope he comes on line soon. I have put your psi details, (60 & 100) in but the engine details are for my mill engine.

Hope this helps ??? ???

Best Regards
Bob

View attachment Blr2.xls

This topic made me do some reading (like most topics here)