Horizontal Stirling Engine from November/December 2005 HSM

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brass_Machine

Reaction score
Philjoe5 did. He has a picture of them in one of my posts: HERE scroll down to the bottom.

Gonna order that back issue on monday.

Eric

Eric thanks, I thought I had seen it posted here but a search didn't bring me back anything. I am studying the plans now for a future build...:)

FYI, gents, that Stirling is Rudy Kouhoupt's design, and orginally appeared in his article, "An Air-Cooled Hot Air Engine." It's in volume 2 of his "Shop Wisdom" books, so if you ever thought you might want one of those books, this could be your excuse. I have both the book and the HSM article. The latter describes this engine as a project for a shop class. It has full plans as well as some good construction tips.

The original articles shows how Rudy built a little stove for heat that's pretty neat and then hooked the whole thing up to run a fan.

This one looks real nice compared to a lot of Stirlings, so it's been on my list to get around to one day. As these models go, this one didn't look like a "beginner" model, so I didn't want to attempt it as a first engine.

Cheers,

BW

I know what you mean about not a beginners model. I have had my eye on it since it came out in the magazine. I am going to have to try to substitute some of the materials once I start on it. The stuff I don't have on hand is the ABEC - 7 ball bearing, Hot End bronze, bronze for the Power Cylinder. Guess I better check to see how expensive these will be.

Paul Chretien is a buddy of mine and consulted with me about building the engine shown in the pictures from our club website (URL in first post in this thread).

IIRC, Rudy's design calls for a bronze hot cap. I talked Paul into using stainless.