Dimensioning Standards

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brian Rupnow

Design Engineer
Project of the Month Winner
Reaction score
I have been a machine designer for (gasp) 44 years. One of the basic rules I learned by, was to anticipate what the person actually building from the detail drawing was going to be measuring with!! I did a lot of structural steel work---and it was all dimensioned in fractions of an inch.--Why?---Because the man laying out the beams and columns in the steel shop was going to be doing it with a tape measure.--Same thing for weldments, anything flame cut, and anything vaguely architectural. If you were designing something that would be built in the machine shop, on a lathe, mill, shaper, etc, then it was designed in decimals of an inch. For non critical work, it was dimensioned to two decimal places. For "critical" dimensions, it was taken to 3 decimal places. For really critical work, as in matching jig bored dowel holes and bearing fits, the dimensions were taken out to 4 decimal places. Then, in 1975 or thereabouts, the whole damned world turned upside down, and everthing had to be designed in hard metric!!! This was a total joke--as soon as the blueprints were issued to the shop floor, you would see the poor machinists setting around with pocket calculators converting all this metric $hit back to British Imperial measurements so they could build it on their machines, which were all set up for British Imperial meaurements only. Of course, this was in the "pre-computer" era, when all design work was done on a drafting board. I went back to school when I was 50, to learn how to design in "computer world". I was absolutely terrified at first, but I learned to design first in 2D for about 3 years, then on to 3D about 10 years ago. Now computers are great, but there is a flaw---When you were wor