Crankshaft rods cams

Discussion in 'General Engine Discussion' started by cumminspower665, Feb 13, 2020.

Help Support HMEM by donating:

1. Feb 13, 2020 #1

cumminspower665

cumminspower665

cumminspower665

So I've never built a small scale engine before. I'm working on a inline 6 with a supercharger. Have questions about crank rod cam sizes if I'm going to big to small?? Hoping someone my have some input on this subject for me. Maybe help with a plunger haha! Here's a picture of what I've been working off of.
    Bore 1.4in
    Stroke 1.5 in
    Rod length is 2.6in
    Crank counter weights and all 2.6in
    Block is 10.15 long
    4.75 wide
    Cant seem to add any photos...

2. Feb 13, 2020 #2

cumminspower665

cumminspower665

cumminspower665

3. Feb 13, 2020 #3

Longboy

Longboy

Longboy

Ret. Autoworker.
    Not sure what you are asking here looking at the drawing......What will you be operating on the engine at the end of the plunger from a "crank rod cam"?

4. Feb 13, 2020 #4

cumminspower665

cumminspower665

cumminspower665

Haha. The plunger is for getting the head out of a$$!
    But what I'm asking is..
    Am I over sized or undersized. Feel like I go to far on some things not enough on others. Looking for a little insite what someone has found for ratios between these sizes that works good or best.
    -Crank journals. 7in
    -Piston pin location
    (this drawling is older but still used. Pin is closer to center but not all the way)
    -Cam .5in diameter
    Rods 2.6in

5. Feb 13, 2020 #5

Longboy

Longboy

Longboy

Ret. Autoworker.