Brayton cycle engine beginnings

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

myrickman

Reaction score
This is one I have been toying with making for several years. The Brayton cycle differs from the Otto cycle in that it is constant pressure combustion. A mix of fuel and air is injected into a cylinder and burns. As it burns, it expands and creates additional work. The top side of the piston compresses air which is stored in the receiver and later used for combustion. It is a two cycle engine in that it produces power each revolution. I have researched several of Braytons patents and seen three of them at the smithsonian annex and the great falls museum in Paterson, NJ. This design appears to be a good start for a test mule to demo the concept. The tricky part is the fuel-air injection system and the plate to keep the burning mix from getting back to the mixing chamber. The plan is to use sintered stainless steel as the flame arrestor to accomplish this. The fuel pump is simply a pin in a barrel with check balls. It doesn't really inject, but delivers a charge to the mixing chamber behind the flame arrestor. I'll post some beginning pix over the weekend to start things off. Here is the patent drawing to give you an idea of what it will look like.

image.jpg

Interesting project; it will be fun to follow along with your work.

Dave