10x22 Lathe

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jdcool4

Reaction score

I am looking into buying my first lathe.The Grizzly 10x22 looks to be a good starter lathe with a decent size.But it looks like a lot of people have to add reverse and a vfd.I came across the Craftex cx700 its a bit more and i would have to save longer but it has reverse and is varible speed.I was wondering if any one has heard anything about it and if its worth it ?

How about an intro post in the "Introductions" section?

Tell us a bit about yourself and what you are planning on building.
That gives us the opportunity to give you solid advice.
Also your location helps a lot!
From the Craftex it tells me you are in Canada somewhere?

Andrew

Sorry ill post into that section.But I am John I am from Ohio,I work as a mechanic on heavy duty trucks,I have always wanted a lathe ever since I was in high school and i got to take a few classes at GM when i had access to there machine shop every other wensday after school.As for what i plan to build i don't really have nothing in mind other then some day when i am good enough i want to build a model engine.The only reason i was looking at the craft ex lathes is because i came across the 10x22 with digital read out and decided to look at it and found it had many features that other people are adding to there grizzly 10x22 lathes

JD: what we want and what we can afford sometimes leaves a gap. the Grizzly is a good size and a good starter lathe. most import machines are prebuilt kits. most could use upgrades and improvements.

My thought is buy the grizzly and the tools you need to go with it.

Download the plans for the LMS oscilator and the Mcabe runner.

build an engine. . then when you have the extra money upgrade the lathe for easier use.
Tin