What accesories do I need to buy with a new milling machine?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brian Rupnow

Design Engineer
Project of the Month Winner
Reaction score
Yes, a dumb question to those of you who have a mill or worked with them in the past. I am very new to owning a mill (it hasn't even arrived yet), and I need to know what "accesories" I will need. I have requested that the business I am purchasing the mill from order in a complete set of collets---they have told me that this machine has an M2 spindle taper, and that it needs M2 collets to work with it. I'm not certain that I need all of the different sizes, but a complete set of these collets is only $114.00. I know that I will need a milling vice ---I will probably buy a very simple one for my "learning" phase. I see that they are available with an angularly adjustable base, but I don't know if I need that because the head and column on this machine will tilt. What holds the collets in place?--do I need a through the spindle drawbar? What do you suggest for cutters?--I have a 1" dia. end mill that I bought when I was experimenting with milling in my lathe. I don't want to buy a vast assortment of cutters that I may never use, but are there 2 or 3 basic types/sizes of cutters that you would recomend to a novice? I did buy a book today by Arnold Throp, "Vertical Milling in the Home Workshop" but I didn't find it to be all that helpfull. What else do I need besides a vice, collets, and cutters. I know that eventually a dividing head might be nice, but I'm not ready for that yet. I do have a good angle plate that I bought when I got my lathe. I am assuming that I can use this milling machine to drill holes---I have a chuck with a tapered shank that fits into the tailstock of my lathe, and the literature with my lathe says that it has an MT2 taper in the ta