Valve design

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brian Rupnow

Design Engineer
Project of the Month Winner
Reaction score
Although I have been playing about with model steam/air engines for 2 years now, I still do not have a clearly defined understanding of valve design for a double acting air engine. If we leave "lag" and "lead" out of the equation, I want to know the following information. For a "given" stroke and piston length, how does one go about calculating A--The "throw" on the valve eccentric, B--the length of the "big ends" on the spool valve, the distance between the inlet and outlet ports, C--the distance between the "big ends" on the spool valve. I am sure that this information can all be reduced to a set of formulae that will cover any double acting air engine, but I haven't been able to find it, and I don't seem to be able to figure it out by myself. This all shows up in the attached .gif which was so kindly provided by Maryak. If anyone can help withthis, it would be an immense help to myself and to all other model engineers.---Brian
PISTONV1.gif

Most of those numbers depend on where you start with the valve. You can start at the crank end with some throw on the eccentric, and then figure out how far apart things need to be at the valve. Or you can figure out what you need for the valve and then figure out what eccentric will give you that motion. If you want a reversing linkage yu need enough valve travel that you can put the extra linkage in and still have the valve work.

If you have a CAD program you can play with the details that way and have them work pretty good when you get them in hardware.

And you will notice that a lot of the linkages have some sort of threaded connection in the linkage that allows for some adjustment in case you didn't quite measure of make everything perfect.