Suitable boiler materials and size?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lakc

Reaction score
Hello there! Forgive my ignorance, but I am new to the boiler world. I would like to build a small model boiler (approx 3"dia), and while copper is a dream to work with, I am afraid of turning $150 in materials into scrap. I can tig, mig, gas weld, braze, soft solder, and surface mount solder, but every attempt at solver soldering has been a disaster. Actually, I suspect that I have been victim of a cruel hoax. As the solver solder that has been given to me to try, I now believe has a melting point somewhere around inconel/nickel mix. That may be an exaggeration, maybe not, but the experience has soured me on all things considered silver brazing.

Cost and availability make me lean towards mild steel for a boiler. Its been awhile since I have done tig welding and I could use the practice. Corrosion worries me, however, and I wonder if it is acceptable (or ever tried) to copperplate the interior?

I am reasonably certain I could braze with regular brazing rod, but I have yet to see that mentioned.

I am also uncertain as the the actual size of boiler and how it relates to the actual work it can accomplish, i.e. how big a boiler to do 1 horsepower, etc.

I am trying to approach this type of project cautiously. The one "steam fact" that I seem to remember was someone mentioning "the rules of steam are written in blood". That quote stuck very well with me, although the blood part is not as bothersome as potential burns and disfigurement.

Braze or Bronze welding is not ideal for boilers as the material will suffer dezincification in the presance of steam, same reason you should not us ebrass for bushes etc.