Subject

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hammers-n-nails

Reaction score
first of all i want to be clear in saying im not an expert on the subject but i can tell you what i know from experiance. the only thing that has been done to the lathe that i use (my dads lathe) besides what you have already mentioned is to parallel the headstock to the bed, his was damaged during shipping, i suspect it was knocked over with a forklift, this is done by turning a large piece of stock about 8" long from one end to the other without using the tailstock and checking for differences in diameter, i found this to be a tedious process but it really shouldnt be neccissary on a new, undamaged lathe as it should be adjusted at the factory. i have heard of lapping the carrage to the bed but i dont know how that is done, or if its absolutly neccissary, some of the other members know alot more about this than i do so they can tell you about that. the other thing i would like to mention is that when you level your machine you should really have a machinists level because the bed, even though it looks like a huge pice of iron that couldnt possibly be twisted, but it can. this probably isnt much help but its all i got.

Go to the Grizzly site, and find a lathe the same or very similar to the one you will be getting.

From that page, you should be able to download the operating manual.

They are about the best written manuals for these import machines you will find, and they should give you a load of advice about levelling and setting the machine up for use.

I think my lathe is similar to yours, but the Chinglese manual that came with it was only useful for hanging in the toilet.

I downloaded a couple of similar manuals from Grizzly and they told me basically everything I needed to know.

Blogs