Sometime you just get lucky.

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Andy_B

Reaction score
Yesterday I visited my local scrap dealer checking on mystery metal for sale. Saw a huge tri-wall full of aluminum cutout/offs. Seems that there is a company in the area that does specialized aluminum panels for various applications using a liquid abrasive process. They toss all the waste material in a tri-wall and sell it to the scrap dealer. Takes them about 2 to 3 months to fill a box depending on their orders. The alum is 6061 T6. The thickness ranged from 3/4" to 1-1/4"s. I think with a little judicious planning that I should not have too much waste since the engines that I plan on building are very small. My first, which is in progress, is Elmer's Wobbler. I know you guys recommend that for a complete novice first engine. I definitely fit that description.

Anyway, here's a picture of my haul. ;D

Andy

Alum-001.jpg

Nice haul Andy. Looks like a life time supply right there. :eek: ;D

BTW, those parts were cut by a water jet cutter. If you need to cut a small piece from those that you have. You can use a table saw with a carbide blade.

Bernd

Nice stash ! I'm slowly building up my scrap box by scrounging small metals pieces from wherever I can !! :D