radial cam material choice

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

petertha

HMEM Supporting Member
Reaction score
With my rather lengthy lathe repair issue finally behind me, I am back on the 5-cyl radial project. Thus far I've finished a cylinder mockup, crankcase, crankshaft, now working on the gear/cam business end.

I'm mulling over material type for the cam rings. My plan was O1 oil hardening tool steel. Now I'm wondering if I should consider air hardening. I've never used it before, only O1 on simple parts. In fact have done very little hardening, flame & dunk method.

My understanding of the knife blade crowd is they use air hardening & clamp between 2 aluminum plates to 'quench' in order to minimize distortion of thin blades. My cams are nominal 44mm (1.7") diameter but are kind of swiss cheesed with holes. I don't have grinding facilities. I could tolerate a teeny bit of warpage but not much. Any feedback or experience?

This link shows similar operation, except he used hardening compound. Maybe so as not to risk quenching distortion?
http://philsradial.blogspot.ca/#!/2012/09/cam-assembly.html

SNAG-2-21-2018 0000.jpg

SNAG-0024.jpg

IMG_6714_edited-1.jpg

IMG_6685_edited-1.jpg

At least for bearing purposes, case hardening is often used so a harder surface with better wear characteristics can be used, whilst the soft inner core reduces overall brittleness of the bearing. For through hardening, the overall hardness cannot be matched without rendering the nearing to fragile to be used. Possibly this is why case hardening was used in this application.