Nitrile O'Rings

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

robwilk

Reaction score
I have to put some O'Rings around a test tube on Stirling engine to seal it in the main cylinder do you think Nitrile O'Rings will stand the temperature if not what should I use .
Thanks for looking.

Rob......

When I worked in the Hydraulic/Pneumatic industry there was a caution issued about Viton O rings, I didn't save a copy but I copied this a while back from one of the forums when Viton O rings were mentioned.
"They have 2 issues that might make them less than ideal:
1) If overheated (405 degC) they release Fluorine gas, which immediately dissolves in atmospheric water to form HF hydrofluoric acid - this destroys metals, glasses and people and is hazardous even in o ring quantities
2) Viton is physically weak by elastomer standards
3) its VERY expensive (but that may not be a problem)

Nitrile will probably be fine - the 100 degrees is the PERMANENT temperature it will stand to work 24/7 with no loss of elasticity or other properties. We don't mind replacing a o ring each year. Nitrile is hopeless in air (ozone) and especially ozone but both of these are limited in a steam engine

My strong preference would be silicone, where the temperature is immaterial (I use it in CO2 motors at minus 20 or so). It ccan be made hard enough to reduce friction (about 75 to 80 shore A if interested) and the oils used will just make it swell temporarily

hope this is helpful,
I have probably given the impression that viton has its problems - I don't use it . Leave it for aerospace where it is essential, and the maintenance chaps know its habits"

Regards,
Gerald.

steamboatmodel said: