Just starting

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

robert1352

Reaction score
Hi all, I am getting a lathe and a few other tools in the next few days and was wondering if someone here would suggest a good project for a complete beginner.Something made out of barstock only.I was thinking about one of the flame lickers, but i'm not sure if that is too much for me right now.Thank you for your input. Robert :big:

Hi Robert; welcome!

If you're like me when I started and have little or no machining experience, I suggest cruising the internet for homemade tooling. Make a list of what you'd like to have and start by making tools for a while. That will save you a lot of money and hone your skills.

If you have experience and tools and are looking for a 1st project, I'd suggest one of the simple "wobbler" engines that'll run on low pressure compressed air. Do a Google search for wobbler engine and also "McCabe's Runner," another simple engine.

Have fun and BE REAL CAREFUL, a lathe can hurt you!

Milton

what do you think about the liney machines? They look pretty straight forward.

Hey Robert...

The Liney machines are great. I haven't built one yet, but I understand he is very supportive. I think his 1 cylinder or 2 cylinder engines would be good for a first.

Consider doing building an Elmer's designed engine. You can join the Yahoo groups and get the plans for free.

Another one to consider is the simple wobbler plans offered by LMS. Found HERE.

What are you getting for tools? What kind of lathe? A mill too? You might want to start learning on some shop made tools.

Anything can be built. There are some really nice complex IC engines out there built by people as their first engine. So really, it is up to you.

Eric

Robert,