How best to adjust gibs

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tmuir

Reaction score
I noticed tonight on my lathe that the cross slide has a lot of play in it.
I've obviously used it enough that it is time to adjust the gibs.
I've never had to do this before so I'm looking for some guidance.

Do I just do them up all slightly and then check the crosslide travel doesn't bind anywhere and all movement is gone or is there more to it than that.
Thanks Tony

That is how I do it but I am by no means an expert on the subject. :)

Most manuals recommend the gib screws be turned in until you just
feel resistance and lock them in place there.

I have also seen a few that suggest snugging up the screws then
backing it off 1/4 turn.

They should be as snug as possible without causing excessive drag.
It's a fine line to hit. Don't be surprised if it takes more than one
attempt to get the results you want.

Rick

I've repeated the process...snug one down then back off...go to next...when I come back around to the first one...I've had to snug it down further...I keep going until I see the procedure makes no difference. That is, snugging down and backing off is the same as before. I don't know if that's right. I'm still learning.

But from what you said...seems to imply you've never taken the gibs out. I had similar questions in the forum before and someone suggested polishing the gibs. When I took my gibs out the burrs were very obvious. I polished (sanded) and reinstalled and they were much much better.