First Engine, Faded plans, But Not Deterred

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Troutsqueezer

Project of the Month Winner!!!
Project of the Month Winner
Reaction score
Howdy Folks,

I've been putting together my little machine shop for the past several months and now that it is getting near the point where I can actually build something with it I'm preparing for my first engine build. I've been storing up a few plans, some more complicated than others but have decided to go with Elmer's #25 for the first go 'round. I've seen some beautiful renditions of that model posted in various places along with nice photos on setup for the pieces.

The only thing is....

On the pages that I downloaded from John-Toms, in the far lower right corner there is what I believe to be the steam connector. Hard to tell because the original scan didn't quite cover that corner of the document so the image or outline of the part isn't there but a few letters are visible. I'm thinking I could probably SWAG it here but for my very first engine I figured I'd better be sure about it.

Does anyone have a better scan of #25 plans or suggestions or should I just buck up and make the part how I think it oughta be and make it work?

Thanks Fred. That's the same copy ok, they kinda messed up in the corner on the scan. Oh well, guess I'll march onward and it'll become apparent what the shape and dims oughta be when I get into it more.

-trout

You are right. It is the steam connector.

It is made from 3/16 brass rod. Overall length is 5/8 inch. 5/16 of it is turned down to 1/8 and it is threaded about 5/32 (not dimensioned) 5-40. It is drilled through 1/16 inch.

Gail in NM

PS- Welcome to HMEM Trout. wEc1

>Thanks Gail, that about covers it I think. Doesn't look too complex. Thx for the welcome. I'll be posting more as I gear up.