Digital Readout

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pgp001

Reaction score
I have an Alexander Master Toolmaker milling machine, a few years ago I fitted it with a set of three cheap linear scales to give me a sort of poor mans digital readout system.

This has worked extremely well and served its purpose, but I am now wondering if I should go the whole hog and fit a full three axis or maybe just an XY axis digital readout system. I like the look of some of the features like bolt hole circles and co-ordinate curve milling etc. I think I could probably manage with a two axis DRO and retain the existing digital scale for the Z axis.

I have been looking at the ones on the Allendale Machine-DRO website.

My question is:-

Has anyone fitted a system to an Alexander or a Deckel FP1 which is essentially the same. Did you encounter any problems etc.

Thanks

Phil

Hi Phil,
here is My 2 cents:) buy any kind of DRO you whant all your going to get
is 2 aluminium angle plate and the clearence specs they whant for accurate operation.
I tried many diff stuff from extremely expensive to made ion china DRO and I was please with all of them.

As for installing one on your mill, if you call or email for help your going to get the same answer
bracket's are generic.... your a machinist.... get over it, and get it done

cheers