Cutting a long slot in a fairly thick mild steel plate.

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tony Bird

Reaction score
Hi,

Yesterday I had to cut a 9” long slot in a ¼” thick mild steel plate unfortunately it was way beyond the sensible capabilities of my light Milling machine. So I decided to remove the metal from the slot by chain drilling and filing.

This is the system I learnt when I was an apprentice the day before yesterday or so it seems. The bit that has to be right is the marking out and centre punching; also sharp drills and a good file are required. The idea of chain drilling is to drill holes in a straight line with centres that when drilled the holes almost to join up. It is also necessary that the holes drilled are square to the surface of the plate as it helps when filling the slot square. The more accurate the holes are positioned the less work is required when filling the slot. For drilling the holes it is a good idea to screw the plate to some flat wood.

First a length of steel plate was cut; this is about the limit that my mechanical hacksaw will manage.

Then the position of the holes was accurately marked out centre punched and spot drilled. Then every other hole was drilled a little undersized.

Then the holes between were drilled slightly undersized.

The holes were then drilled to size,

A file was used to connect three of the holes.

A hacksaw blade was inserted and all the holes were joined.

A piercing saw was used for the short section.

Section removed.

Starting to file long run.

Long run filed and both of the short ones. Time for tea!

Close up of long run.

After tea finished.

Regards Tony.

Thanks for posting how you did it. I have used this method in the past but never thought to first drill the holes undersize, nice trick.

The hole pattern came out perfect! Good job.