Steel boiler construction

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Julian

Reaction score
Hi All

First off I live in the UK which is probably very very relevant to the question.

I have a length of seamless steel pipe making its way to me for probably and hopefully no charge. It comes from a multi-million pound hospital heating system and was probably 'ordered in error and cut up before they realised' so surplus to requirements!. It is steel tube for high pressure and high temps. I am told it is about 6" diameter

I am a competant arc welder and now moving to Mig. I am not certified or profession but would class myself as a good amateur.

Here's the question...If I can make it into a boiler and run all the necessary tests as per Rich's thread (Small boiler) elsewhere on this forum to prove it is ok can I get a certificate on it in the UK?

Especially if I can (though possibly still if the answer is no) can anyone suggest some available plans to work to.

The work will not be for a while but I like to collect materials and info well in advance of starting another project. I have several sepparate collections of materials getting close to being started. Next is probably convert the mill to CNC to allow other projects to be started.

Regards

Julian

Not in Oz, you wouldn't. The code says welding has to be done by a qualified person. :(

Best bet for an amateur with a steel boiler is go for the Briggs type.

Gis a clue.....wats the "Briggs Type" please

Julian.

:)

Hi Guy's,

Julian: -

This is not exactly an easy question to answer since it depends upon various factors.

In the UK small model boilers (non-commercial) having a total volume/capacity of greater than 3 bar/litres and less than 500 bar/litres are tested in accordance with: -