Scrap Metal

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BigBore

HMEM Supporting Member
Reaction score
In your posts, people mention getting scrap metal by the pound at scrap yards. Think newbie here. Are you talking about junk yards? Don't laugh, but I've never been to one. I found several places under "scrap yard" that say they take cars, trucks, and the like. What do you say when you go to one? Do you just ask if they sell brass and such by the pound? Their ads don't mention that they sell metals. Are there other good sources like, maybe, recycling centers? I've been to few of them and don't recall seeing signs that offered retail sales of metals.

What are good prices (ball park, obviously) that one pays for chunks of metal? I might as well start collecting some. I know about 360 brass, 6061 aluminum and mild steel. Are there others a newb should be stock piling? Thanks in advance.

Ed

Ed,
Having gone through the junk/scrap yard journey as a newbie, let me relay my experience. I picked up some pieces of what were called either hot or cold rolled steels, or 1018 steel or cast iron. As a new lathe/mill operator I was also dealing with turning speeds, carbide vs HSS, feed rates, etc. Some of that steel was just terrible to work with. I went through lots of cutters trying different approaches which adds up to $$$$ and one piece of steel in particular gave me fits before I sent it back to its final resting place. Some of the cast iron I bought now serves as a doorstop and will never again meet a cutting tool.

Meanwhile, I located a small machine shop run by a father/son that was very accomodating in selling me drops, usually less than $1/lb, often $0.50/lb. They handle mainly 1144 in round stock and cold rolled 1018 in flat stock. All of a sudden I really learned how to turn and finish steel.