Hello

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

robertvi

Reaction score
Hi all,

Great forum! I don't have any workshop machines. I'm just starting to learn about this fascinating world, and maybe I will get myself set up with a mini-lathe and -mill one day :p This could easily become a lifetime hobby! So far I'm building a Stirling engine using tin cans and hand tools. About me:

A biologist by training (neuroscience, animal navigation, evolution, neural networks) I've mainly worked using computer simulations with Linux/C++ and Matlab, studying invertebrates. I also know some PHP, SQL and python, and started to learn AVR microcontrollers at some point.

Other current interests:
motorcycling, renewable energy (hence the Stirling engine)

Previous things I've built:
plastic bottle water rocket launch system, analog phototaxis robot (not my design), geodesic dome tent
- can you spot the common theme? me neither hehe :D

All the best,
Rob

PS: Brit currently living in New Zealand

Welcome . thanks for the into . These do help us help you.
Tin

Welcome to the forum Rob.
I'd like to see pics of your tin-can engine.

Rob,

Welcome to our forum. wEc1

Best Regards
Bob

Welcome wEc1 to the forum Rob

Best Regards from Sunny Spain

Gordy

Welcome Rob. wEc1 This is a great place to be inspired and learn about the hobby.

Regards,
Rudy

Thanks for such a warm welcome everyone. I will post pics of the tin can engine if it becomes a reality. Otherwise I will mostly be looking over the shoulders of the master craftsmen at work here!

Welcome Rob,

I have seen some very nice runners made from nothing but cans and other simple material and they can be just a fun to build and run.

Bill

Rob,

If I may add to the heat of the warm welcome - hello from the old country.
I studied genetic algorithms/neural nets/C++ also.