reversing a rotary valve marine engine?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aquarius21

Reaction score
Greetings, I have just begun to relearn about the lathe after 34 years and using advice here have begun turning the readily available Popular Mechanics 2 cylinder rotary valve marine engine. ( John-Tom, etc- source.)

Question. I have been wondering if a reverse mode can be built into this design by having the air pressure enter the exhaust port, or by an eccentric on the crankshaft. ( I must confess that my mind was wandering yesterday afternoon as I worked on a sermon. Rest assured my mechanical insights will find a way into the sermon next Sunday.) I have never built an engine before and as many of you may have mastered this particular question I welcome your insights. Quincy

Can you tell us which magazine, month and year for this engine?

Hi Quincy. I don't know how to help you out with adding a reverse. I know the model well, having looked over the plans on several occasions. It seems to be a complicated proposition.

I can however suggest a good alternative if you require a marine style engine that's double acting, self starting, two cylinder with a reversing mechanism.

Elmer's #52 Reversible Vertical Twin.

http://www.john-tom.com/html/ElmersEngines.html

Just a thought.

-MB